Anomalous spaces

Nicholas Farrelly

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter


    In the common description—often repeated in state-sanctioned statements of national geography—Myanmar is divided into seven States and seven Regions, plus the Union Territory of Naypyitaw. Lived experiences across the breadth of anomalous spaces highlight persistent patterns of ambiguity and contestation. Throughout Myanmar's long history of inter-ethnic and ideological conflict, rebel groups have controlled large parts of the country. This was most apparent from the 1960s through to the 1980s when up to two thirds of the national territory was controlled by anti-government groups. To formalise the relationship between powerful ethnic minority groups and the central government, the 2008 Constitution created five Self-Administered Zones and one Self-Administered Division. The development of Special Economic Zones became a priority under the government of President Thein Sein from 2011 to 2016. The anomalies of Myanmar government military bases are a further example of spatial management in a country only slowly emerging from many decades of difficult authoritarian rule.
    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationRoutledge Handbook of Contemporary Myanmar
    Editors Adam Simpson, Nicholas Farrelly, Ian Holliday
    Place of PublicationLondon
    PublisherRoutledge Taylor and Francis Group
    Edition1st edition
    ISBN (Print)9781138820777
    Publication statusPublished - 2017

    Cite this