Tenzin Gyatso, The Fourteenth Dalai Lama

Chester (John) Powers

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter


    The Tibetan institution of reincarnating lamas (sprul sku; pronounced tülku) began in the thirteenth century when Rangjung Dorje (Rang ’byung rdo rje, 1284-1339) was recognized as the rebirth (yang srid) of Karma Pakshi (1204/6-1283) and thus became the third Gyelwa Karmapa (rGyal dbang Karmapa). There were previous examples of people being identified with deceased masters and some unofficial recognitions of rebirths, but this was the first case of a such a recognition of a child. In making this move, the Karma Kagyu (Karma bKa’ brgyud) order was taking a significant gamble: if the boy had turned out to be a reprobate or a fool – or even if he were merely of mediocre abilities and unable to meet the high expectations expected of Karma Pakshi’s successor – it could have been disastrous for them.
    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationThe Buddhist World
    Editors John Powers
    Place of PublicationAbingdon and New York
    ISBN (Print)9780415610445
    Publication statusPublished - 2016


    Dive into the research topics of 'Tenzin Gyatso, The Fourteenth Dalai Lama'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this