Stuart Bedford, Ralph Regenvanu, Matthew Spriggs, Hallie R Buckley, Frederique Valentin

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter


    The Republic of Vanuatu, located in the south west Pacific, comprises a total land area of 12,195 sq km, made up of 83 islands, 70 of which are inhabited (Figure 59.1). Vanuatu was a former colony of Britain and France, jointly run under a Condominium government and known during that period as the New Hebrides or Nouvelles Hébrides, until it gained its independence in 1980. The indigenous population (known as ni-Vanuatu) of about 220,000 today remains remarkably culturally and linguistically diverse (Bonnemaison et al. 1996; Siméoni 2009). Most of the population practise a subsistence lifestyle and live in kin-based groups on their ancestral lands, practising a range of traditional or kastom beliefs. As a small, developing nation, Vanuatu has limited financial resources and consequently government priorities are focused on supporting and developing basic infrastructure.
    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationThe Routledge handbook of archeological human remains and legislation: an international guide to laws and practice in the excavation and treatment of archaeological human remains
    Editors Nicholas Marquez-Grant and Linda Fibiger.
    Place of PublicationOxon, UK
    PublisherRoutledge, Taylor & Francis Group
    ISBN (Print)9780415588577
    Publication statusPublished - 2011


    Dive into the research topics of 'Vanuatu'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this